Jerky Junction

FullSizeRender (1)
Jerky Junction From Front

Over the spring break, I was in Truckee, a little town on the border of California and Nevada; while I was there I tried to find a food truck, since I want my blog to eventually go beyond Santa Barbara, and this was a good start. Unfortunately, I couldn’t find one that fit the exact term “food truck”, but I did manage to find a store converted from a train, and since it used to be a mobile vehicle, I decided it was close enough. This store was Jerky Junction, a store that, clearly,  sells beef jerky.

FullSizeRender (2)
Jerky Junction from Side/Front

They don’t only sell beef jerky, though. They also sell jerky from plenty of other animals and not even the common ones, like salmon or turkey, they have jerky from sharks to wild boars. They also have plenty of candy, almost a whole wall of it, along with local, raw honey, along with mixed nuts, and “got jerky?” tee-shirts.

FullSizeRender (3)
From left to right; Ahi Jerky, Snapping Turtle Jerky, Wild Boar Jerky, Kangaroo Jerky, Whiskey Rabbit Jerky

IMG_6404

When I was there, I got a bag of the kangaroo jerky, since it was interesting and I had never heard of that before. Before I ate it, I decided to look at what other people thought of it, and saw a mixed opinion, some people thought it was disgusting, while others felt it was delicious. For me, I was kind of in between; for the most part it tasted just like beef jerky, which is something that I really enjoy, however, it had an aftertaste that was hard to put my finger on. It was the type of thing where I wasn’t sure if I liked it or not, which only encouraged me to take another bite; I can see how some people could love it.

IMG_6412
Kangaroo Jerky

The Jerky Junction, all in all, was a very fascinating and creative place, that I would highly recommend you check out if you ever find yourself in Truckee. I am not the only one who thinks this, as they have a 5 star rating on yelp, out of 11 ratings. Tell me what you would rate them below in the poll; I’ll see you next time and remember,

Keep Trucking On!

keeptruckinonlogo-copy

Leave a Reply

